Notebook lid event problem

My constant updating the packages in my Breezy Badger Development Stage seems to be affecting my ACPI scripts. One affected is the lid-event script. Everytime I close the lid of my notebook, there should be an immediate blanking out of the display. But this does not happen now. I tried to tweak the /etc/acpi/lid.sh, which refers to /usr/share/acpi-support/screenblank script, to no avail. I could not figure out the meaning of the script lines, which looked cryptic.

I didn’t lose hope. My workaround was to use the screenblank script directly. I made a symbolic link through this command:

sudo ln -s /usr/share/acpi-support/screenblank /usr/bin/sb

So, if I want to close my notebook’s lid with the screenblank working, I run the command sb and then close the lid.

It’s a manual method, but it works.

Leave a Reply

