Playing a DVD disc on Ubuntu Dapper

My annoyance the other day about the inability of my Ubuntu system to work with my AirVast wificard prompted me to do a fresh install of Ubuntu Dapper, hoping it will resolve my problem.

That still has not resolved my wificard problem. And the recourse of just getting connected via the LAN mode came to my mind.

As I was using my new Ubuntu system, I encountered a problem about viewing a DVD film. Totem does not play it as it tells me there’s no necessary plugin to play a DVD disc. After googling about this problem, I found out that in order to play a DVD disc, one has to:

  1. sudo apt-get install totem-xine. This shall remove the package totem-gstreamer.
  2. sudo apt-get install totem-extracodecs.
Leave a Reply

