Taking control over control: Why I moved back to WordPress

Google has been powerful. Starting off with a very fast and robust engine, it has now hosted  tens (and counting) of cool and free services like Gmail, Docs and Spreadsheets, Calendar, Blogger and the like.

Let’s look at it in both positive and negative senses. On the one hand, netizens, whether rich or poor (economically or otherwise), have more opportunities to express themselves and relate with the rest using the Internet, and with much ease. (Actually, this has also made Internet service providers and cafes even happier.) Google has successfully made a unique business case that it’s much more profitable to provide really free services.

On the other hand, Google’s successful projects also mean monopoly. Naive netizens (is it an oxymoron?) having loyalty to it, while still have their hands free, literally, unknowingly have their minds closed to other Internet possibilities that make for their creativity and development. I’ve been one of late.

I hold a account for many Google services (from Gmail to Calendar). Several weeks ago, I decided to create a Blogger account, having the resolve to move there all my WordPress blog entries. Yesterday, my guilt pricked me. That guilt proceeded from my principle that there should not be monopoly in all scheme of things. And the software world is not an exception.

I don’t want an entity to impose on me, whether it gives me free stuff or not. I want my own control. I don’t want unwarranted prodding that this one company is greatest, therefore, its services are greatest of them all. I want options, which must be made known to me in no time.

So I moved back to WordPress to host my advocacy blog. It’s a break from my ‘extreme loyalty’ to Google, extreme because I hadn’t known that Yahoo! has improved very much (like a toolbar that can already run on Mozilla Firefox on Linux).  I don’t want to dwell too much on the pros and cons and I don’t want to compare the two here. But I feel that with WordPress, I can relate to the world much deeper. I come to know people who think and work similar to my concerns, which contribute further to my progress as an individual having work/life.

And I’m not saying that because WordPress is cool, I’ll stick to WordPress forever. As I said, I should have control over Internet stuff, lest I’d be like one of those ‘naive netizens’.

Leave a Reply

