Deleting portion of text with Vim

With Vim, I’m used to deleting portions of text using this command: 10D (to delete 10 lines). But I wanted to delete portions without my counting the number of lines first. I want this ease for replying to emails, whereby I cut all unwanted quoted text down the line but reserving my sig.

I now know that to do that:

  1. Put the cursor in the first character of the region to be deleted.
  2. Enter Visual mode by pressing ‘v’.
  3. Move the cursor down to the last character of he region to be deleted.
  4. Press <Del> or d.
Leave a Reply

