Printing security-laden PDF forms

My office mate received an email containing two PDF attachments related to a project with a foreign agency. One was a memorandum of understanding and another was a fund transfer memo. The first one he was able to print using Adobe Acrobat Linux version. But the other one he could not.

I butted in. I tried to fire up xpdf to attempt to print that suspiciously security-conscious form but it had not been installed. (I therefore push that xpdf be included in the package of any Linux distributions.) So I sudo-apt-get-installed xpdf with the required and recommended dependencies. Then I opened the memo and printed it without any glitch.

As I argued here, xpdf simply rocks.

Leave a Reply

