How to include dynamic quotations in your sig (the Linux way)

Want cool quotations to be automatically included in every mail you send out? This is what I have done:

I got a bash script that reads:

#!/bin/bash
echo "My Work: peace.net.ph"
echo "My ICT Advocacy: "
echo " linux.org.ph"
echo " bukas.kom.ph"
echo " dungkal.wordpress.com"
echo "GPG Key: 0xA4DC0797"
echo "Linux Registered User #317296"
echo "---"
fortune -s

The last line pertains to the ‘fortune’ package that is installed in my Ubuntu machine. The ‘-s’ parameter tells the application to print just a short quotation. Four examples of a short apothegm are these:

You worry too much about your job.  Stop it.  You are not paid enough to worry.
Are you a turtle?
Stay the curse.
Always the dullness of the fool is the whetstone of the wits. -- William Shakespeare, "As You Like It"

As I use ‘mutt’ as my email client, I’ve set the signature variable in the mutt config file ($HOME/.muttrc) that reads like this:

set signature="$HOME/Documents/MyScripts/./mutt_sign|"

That’s it. I’ll update this entry later for the tips on using dynamic quotations with GUI apps like Thunderbird, Evolution and Kmail.

Leave a Reply

