Shampoo Campaign

A city council candidate in Marikina City must be so cash-strapped that he doesn’t have any ‘gift’ to woo the electorate except a sachet-packed shampoo. When I was approached by this candidate near my house (yes, he did the house-to-house stint in my neighborhood), I was a bit reluctant to oblige but he forced that gift to me.

The gimmick was just simple. Mass-print a vote-for-me sticker less than the size of a sachet shampoo. Buy hundreds of sachet shampoo (costing about PHP4.00 per piece) and mount each sticker on each piece of shampoo.

“Use the shampoo on your hair, put my name in your head.” That must be the subliminal message. It’s creative enough, right? Creative but cheesy.

Leave a Reply

