Work less yet produce more and big with Firefox’s Bookmarks Toolbar

Firefox’s Bookmarks Toolbar is very useful to me. It doesn’t matter if that takes up space in my browser window. It’s a worthy trade-off for the handiness of the toolbar. The toolbar saves me one click or two or a scroll just to go to a link. I just let the Bookmarks menu on the menubar a function of the keyboard commands.

How do I make use of my Bookmarks Toolbar?

First, I dump into it all my external RSS feeds. Of course, to better optimize the horizontal limit, I need to group my RSS feeds into themes, like CurEv (for current events) for global and national news and Blogs for blogs I frequently visit. (Note: I abbreviate long words to name my RSS feed groups just because I’ve got a number of groups that I want shown right up front.) So when I want to know what’s up in the Philippine scene, I’ll just click the CurEv and Inquirer Breaking News buttons and presto I got a list of titles/headlines to browse. If one title sounds interesting, I’ll click that title to go to the news page.

When the current page I’m browsing is worth watching out for and it has an RSS feed (proof: there’s an RSS feed icon, colored orange, at the right of the address bar), I’ll just click the icon then assign the feed to a group in my Bookmarks Toolbar folder.

Second, I dump into it personal feeds that I occasionally need to take a peek at, like To-Dos and Appointments on 30Boxes.com. When I feel lazy to go to 30boxes.com to look at my To-Dos, I’ll just click on dungkal (name of group for my personal links and feeds) and ToDo list buttons.

Third, I dump into it interesting links that I might use in the future. Well, what’s the Bookmarks Toolbar is for, anyway? But I raised the toolbar’s usefulness to another level. I created a link group called FUL (frequently used links), which basically contains URLs of pages I may need as references in my blog posts. Take, for example, Wikipedia’s wikibook about FOSS. I often refer to it in my blog posts that tackle free and open source software. So the FUL group contains the URL of the wikibook. To use it as a reference, I just click on the entry and the copy option, and then paste the URL in my post’s buffer.

And before I forget, one basic feature of Firefox is that if the current page you’re browsing is a useful reference, you just have to click and drag the icon at the URL’s left into the Bookmarks Toolbar, or into the relevant group in the toolbar.

Powered by ScribeFire.

Leave a Reply

