My twits about Opera, web browser

In my four days of using Opera web browser as well as its Mail and Chat services, I managed to “micro-blog” about it on Twitter (see below). I’ve been trying Opera since October 18 and I can say that the browser is the best “freeware” there is, what with its fast speed and robustness. Yes, folks, Opera is not open source but it’s cross-platform (available for Linux, Macbooks, and Windows) and is free of charge.

  • Good morning. Trying Opera, the "faster" web browser. #
  • Ha ha. Opera’s "enlarge-font" command makes font _really_ large. Near-sighteds will not press Ctrl++ twice or so. #
  • Point your mouse to a Tab and a tooltip will appear showing the small replica of the web page in that tab. What for? #
  • Opera’s Feeds feature rocks. You can watch out for your favorite feeds by clicking the Feeds item in the menubar. Likewise, … #
  • With Opera’s built-in Mail and Contacts services, I don’t need to create a filter for mails received from a particular person. #
  • Opera’s Mail built-in labels are cool: Important, ToDo, MailBack, CallBack, Meeting, Funny, Valuable. I can’t add more, though 😦 #
  • Panels sidebar takes up just about 8% of screen. Then a sidebar for a specific panel takes up just about 15%. #
  • 18 tabs open in Opera. No hiccups so far. Still showing robustness. I don’t have that with Firefox. #
  • My Opera seemed to freeze a while ago. When I checked top, apport was eating up over 90% of my resources. apport ran because Opera crashed? #
  • When I reran Opera, everything works normally fast again. #
  • Opera Mail rocks big time. Aside from the regular ones, it’s got built-in categories for Attachments, Mailing Lists, and Newsfeeds. #
  • Opera’s GTD-friendly. I can press a couple of keys to label my mails. L->1 for Important; L->2, Todo; and so on. #
  • Unlike with Firefox, with Opera, I can easily change skins without restarting the browser. #
  • Oops, I can’t use a group name for my mail bcc field 😦 #
  • Opera’s chat service is great. #
  • Great, Opera has Quick Reply feature! Just type a few words and press Ctrl+Shift+E. #
  • Opera Mail does not do what Gmail does best: Treating threads as conversations with the latest mail putting its thread on top of the list. #
  • Pressing F11 to full-screen Opera sent my X panicking, disabling the keyboard 😦 #
  • There are two Opera widgets for Twitter. This widget I’m using is called Twippera. My twits and my friends’ are displayed altogether. #
  • This another widget is much simpler. Though I have to do clicks to navigate between my twits and my friends’. #
  • There’s also an Opera widget for Facebook, which unfortunately is nothing more than a list of friends and their statuses. #
  • Opera isn’t open source but freeware. Though it gives ‘freeware’ a new noble distinction. #
  • I can’t find a keyboard shorcut to change Opera mail list’s view from flat to threaded and vice versa 😦 There is with Thunderbird. #
  • When focus is on message, Opera’s quick-reply shortcut doesn’t work 😦 #
  • Want that closed tab back? Going to History is tedious. Just click the Trash Can button and reopen the site. (I’m referring to Opera.) #
  • Dig: Click E to filter mails sent to or by a sender. Bury: No other key to go back to "all" mode. (Opera Mail) #
  • Unlike Firefox, Opera uses an icon/image to indicate loading of a page. #
  • Opera doesn’t give alternatives to fonts not recognized by my system 😦 Though it resolves it with the "user mode" option. #
  • With Opera, you don’t need that status bar anymore. Page loading status is shown right in the address bar. #
  • Booting back to IceWM (after using KDE for a two days). Opera hasn’t changed its UI and remained as fast. #
  • Opera Mail’s filter feature seems bugsy. I created one with a simple rule yet it absorbed all mails from my inbox 😦 #
  • Writing while on constant look-out of Twippera. A twitter addict, that’s me. #
  • Opera’s Windows Panel (Shift+Ctrl+0 then first letter of site name) is equivalent to Firefox’s windows list button. Cool enough. #
  • There’s one mail that’s about a meeting and which I need to reply to. I can’t assign two labels to it as Opera Mail doesn’t allow me that 😦 #
  • Darn, with Opera Mail, I can’t forward HTML-format mails as is nor can I compose HTML-format mail. #
2 comments

  1. i don’t think i need to try Opera kasi i’m more than satisfied with firefox… kahit nga yung thunderbird hindi ko rin nagagamit (not that i prefer outlook, i just go direct to the email websites that i use — doteasy, hotmail, gmail and yahoo)

    what i’m VERY excited (and also apprehensive) about is the latest Ubuntu upgarde — 7.10 (Gutsy Gibbon?)

    have you done it already, teacher dungkal? if yes, do you think i’ll like it as well? if you haven’t upgraded, why not?

    🙂

  2. So far, I’m in love with Opera (which sounds like Oprah, that glib host). I definitely haven’t lost my love for Firefox, though. Babalik at babalik din ako sa FF. Ha ha. Parang marriage ano?

    About Gusty, matagal na akong naka-Gutsy kahit noon pang under development pa ito. By all means, mag-upgrade ka na! Now na! He he.

Leave a Reply

